What are permissions: Should I use them?

What are permissions and why do I care?

Well, Permissions grant users access to certain things such as read_messages gives/revokes the user access to read messages in the server or in the specific channel. You should care about permissions because they can help your server in so many ways such as special channels that only trusted people can read, Announcement channels that you can talk in but other users cannot or a channel that users cannot post pictures in

What permissions should I revoke for new users?

The main permission that you should disable for everyone is the ability to tag @everyone and @here these permissions allow the user to mention every single user in the server. So imagine if you had 2k members and someone decides to tag everyone. You wont have happy users for example click Here for a video about tagging @here

There are also multiple ways to bypass this permission so make sure you go into your role settings and make sure for each individual role the permission for the role to be tagged is disabled (Unless you want it this way for specific roles)

Here is a list of permissions I would have enabled for a new user

Create instant invite Change nickname Send messages Use external emojis Attach files Connect Speak Read text & voice channels

What do each of the permissions do?

Administrator- Grants the user every permission and bypasses channel permissions.

View audit log- Grants the user access to read the audit log where they can see who has been banned, who banned them, users getting roles, users being kicked.

Manage server- Grants the user access to manage the server which lets them change the servers name, Change the server region, Change the server logo and the ability to add bots to the server.

Manage roles- Grants the user access to manage the roles such as change permissions below their highest role.

Manage channels- Grants the user access to delete channels, create channels and edit channel permissions.

Kick members- Grants the user access to kick members from the server.

Ban members- Grants the user access to ban members from the server.

Create instant invite- Grants the user access to create invites so other people can join.

Change nickname- Grants the user access to change their own nickname.

Manage nickname- Grants the user access to change other peoples nickname.

Manage emojis- Grants the user access to add/delete emojis.

Manage webhooks- Grants the user access to add, delete and edit webhooks.

Read text & voice channels- Grants the user access to read the text/voice channel.

Send messages- Grants the user access to send messages.

Send TTS messages- Grants the user access to send text to speak messages (these messages can only be heard by people logged into that channel).

Manage messages- Grants the user access to delete other peoples messages.

Embed links- Grants the user access to embed links.

Attach files- Grants the user access to attach files such as photos and videos.

Read message history- Grants the user access to read other peoples messages.

Use external emojis- Grants the user access to post emojis from other servers.

Add reactions- Grants the user access to attach a reaction to a message.

Connect- Grants the user access to connect to a voice chat.

Speak- Grants the user access to speak in that voice chat.

Mute members- Grants the user access to mute members in the voice chat.

Deafen members- Grants the user access to deafen members in the voice chat (They cannot hear anyone but can speak).

Move members- Grants the user access to move people between voice channels.

Use voice activity- If this is enabled users must use push to talk in voice channels.